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5 Steps to Owning All of Page 1 on Google

5 Steps to Owning All of Page 1 on Google

When it comes to search engines, Google is not only the UK’s largest search engine, but all over the world too. Making sure your business is found by Google based on your you, your business and your keywords is the best way to drive traffic to your website. This is not just about owning all of page 1 on Google but it is also a great way to push negative or unwanted links/articles/blogs about you or your business further down in the search engines.

If you type in your name or your businesses name into Google and you don’t like what you see, here are five steps to help you own page one of Google.

1. Building your brand

When it comes to building your brand, you need to make sure you have signed up to all the necessary sites with a profile about yourself or your business. Below is a list of the sites I recommend for you to be on to build your digital footprint;

If you type in my name Warren Knight into Google and click on page 10, you still see links with my name either in the title or the description.

2. Press Release

After you have signed up to the above sites, you then need to think about other ways of getting your business noticed by industry leaders who will want to share your story. The best way to do this is through press releases. I would suggest getting a press release written about you and your business where you can then publish to press release sites and send to those who have influence in your industry. If you would like to know which two press release sites will give you the best exposure, tweet me!

3. Virtual Assistants

Something which I have done is hire not only one, but two virtual assistants. A VA is great for posting comments, building links, bookmarking your profiles on a daily basis with links back to your online profiles. It doesn’t need to be expensive and they are great at doing the time consuming work that you, as a business owner don’t have the time to focus on. If you would like to know where to find the best VA’s, tweet me and I will point you in the right direction.

4. Link All Your Profiles to Each Other

Another great way to make sure your social activity and profiles which are most crucial for your business end up on the first page of Google when someone searches for you or your business is to link all of your profiles to each other. If you look at my Google+ About page, you will notice that I have my websites there along with all my other social profiles.

5. Turn Negatives into Positives

A great way to make sure that negative information about your business is pushed off the first page of Google is to include the keywords from this content in your social media bios and blogs but change the context and make it positive. Google will then see this as something which should be ranked higher than the initial negative piece of information and will do just that.

Implementing all of the above will allow you to make sure you own the first page of Google with the content and links YOU want. Are you happy with what the first page of Google says about you?

8 Ways to Build a Website for Free

The past year at trade shows I have found a lot of people asking me how they can build a website for free. There are a lot of options out there to do exactly that. Here are 8 ways to build a website for free.

1. WordPress
There are various free platforms out there which you can use to build a website but nothing beats WordPress. It’s usability is by far the best and creates a great looking website. The basic WordPress layouts are free however, if you want one of the premium themes, you will have to pay for it. For a business I am involved in called Social Media eLearning, we built the website in WordPress.

2. PayPal
Once you have built your website you will need to integrate various free tools to help you complete the overall look, one of them being PayPal. Using this payment platform will allow you to sell products on your website. The setup for this is free and they will only take a small percentage of each sale.

3. Eventbrite
If you are a business that holds events, then you can use Eventbrite to do this. You will be able to create an event page for free and take payments. This tool will only take a small percentage of each ticket sale and is a great way to reach people you would never have been able to. When we hold Social Media Training days, we use Eventbrite to do this as it is easy and very simple to integrate into your website.

4. Pic Monkey
Pic Monkey is one of the best free image tools on the internet. You can do all of the usual image adjustments plus more complexed adjustments like retouching and adding text. Once making changes to your image, you can save it to your desktop, free of charge. Be careful, Pic Monkey can become very addictive!

5. YouTube
YouTube is the second largest search engine in the world. It is not only great for viewing videos but also using it to host video’s for free then integrating them into your website. For Social Media eLearning we have our own Youtube channel where various videos are held which can be viewed inside of YouTube but also on our website.

6. Facebook
Facebook is not only a social network, but also a great place to sell your products. A new feature Facebook added earlier this year was their Store. If your business has less than 2,000 likes on its page, you are able to have a Facebook Store completely free of charge. Using a tool called Payvment will help you do this.

7. Pinterest
The newest social network on the block, Pinterest has proved to be a big hit with a lot of users, with each share worth around 48p. Just like Facebook, you can sell your products inside of Pinterest by using Pin2Sell.

8. Ebay & Amazon
One of the most well known websites in the world; Ebay is a great way to sell products. There are some small fees around eBay but overall, you are able to make a profit if you are selling at the right price. Amazon is also a great place to sell products. Again, you will only incur a small fee for doing this.

I hope these 8 ways to help build a website for free will help you do exactly that.

Social Media | Calculate The Value of Your Facebook/Twitter Page

Just over a week ago, Eventbrite’s Tamara Mendelsohn published some interesting data, Social Commerce: A First Look at the Numbers, revealing the sales value of social media shares for the event ticketing site.

The Eventbrite data is interesting and has generated some useful discussion, but taking the data – along with the average sales value of an Eventbrite ticket ($60), it’s possible to use it to generate a ballpark valuation of your social media presence.

In a nutshell, to obtain a very rough estimate of the sales value of your social media presence, take the number of social media shares generated (Facebook, LinkedIn and Twitter) and multiply those by the following coefficients (derived from Eventbrite’s data).  Then simply multiply the result by the average value of a sale (AOV).

  • Social Media Sales Coefficient
    • Facebook =0.042 (for Eventbrite each Facebook share generates $2.52 )
    • Twitter = 0.007 (for Eventbrite each Twitter share generates $0.43)
    • LinkedIn = 0.015 (for Eventbrite each LinkedIn share generates $0.90)
    • Email (Share) = 0.039 (for Eventbrite each email share generates $2.34)

For instance, applying this very rough and ready logic to top brands on Facebook, and using Google shopping search returns as a proxy for average order value – we get an indication of how much these brands’ Facebook pages are worth

  • Starbucks = $2.69M (if est av. order = $4 * 16,041,033 * 0.042)
  • Skittles = $430,491 (if est av.order = $0.89 * 11,516,630 * 0.042)
  • Victoria’s Secret = $6.40M (if est av. order value = $25 * 6,099,033 * 0.42)
  • Converse All Star = $9.30M (if est av. order value = $30 * 7,380,742 * 0.42)

Of course, these valuations should be taken with a pinch huge mountain of salt; drawing any conclusions from the data from one particular company in a particular situation in a particular market with a particular (very good) social commerce strategy and applying it to completely unrelated companies in other markets ignores a mountain of variables that drive social media valuations.  At the very best, this rule of thumb calculation only provides a very initial indicative and caveat-laden ballpark response to the question ’how much is our social media presence [potentially] worth?’

For those, too cautious (or too wise) to use these preliminary social media sales coefficients for a proto-valuation of a social media presence – there are nevertheless a number of useful insights and data points of interest in the Eventbrite data

  • A Facebook share is worth 6x a Twitter share (5.86x to be precise)
  • A Facebook share is worth3x a LinkedIn share (2.8x to be precise)
  • A Facebook share is worth an email share (1.08x to be precise)

So Facebook rules in the world of social media optimization (SMO), for Eventbrite at least, and indeed Tamara notes that Facebook is the #1 referring site for traffic to the company’s site, surpassing Google. On average each Facebook share drives 11 visits back to Eventbrite.com.

Other data of interest;

  • On Eventbrite
    • A Facebook share generates $2.52 in sales
    • A Twitter share generates $0.43 in sales
    • A LinkedIn share  generates $0.90 in sales
    • An email share generates $2.34 in sales
  • Facebook is the #1 referring site for traffic to the company’s site, surpassing Google
  • On average each Facebook share drives 11 visits back to Eventbrite.com
  • Averaging across Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn and Email one share drives over 7 visits back to Eventbrite.com
  • Sharing is independent of event size – the share rate remains consistent
  • Classes/workshops and networking events have the most share activity, followed by fundraisers, conferences, and music events

Warren Knight thanks Paul Marsden